Thread: Localhost ????

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Hi, I am quite new to this and have a problem. My friend has a unix server and I am a user. The server allows us to setup our MySQL instance on any of the machines being root. This gives me a chance to maintain my own server. Now when I want to use localhost what should I use? If I have to use the computer I was logged on then I forgot that. Is there a way I can find about that? Another thing is that, in username what name do I use, the username of my account or database username ie is root? And similarly which password should I use? It would be great help, thanks
    Amad
  3. No Profile Picture

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by amad:
    Hi, I am quite new to this and have a problem. My friend has a unix server and I am a user. The server allows us to setup our MySQL instance on any of the machines being root. This gives me a chance to maintain my own server. Now when I want to use localhost what should I use? If I have to use the computer I was logged on then I forgot that. Is there a way I can find about that? Another thing is that, in username what name do I use, the username of my account or database username ie is root? And similarly which password should I use? It would be great help, thanks
    Amad
    [/quote]

You are leaving alot of information out. I need to know what kind of unix he/she is runnig. I run Suse linux on two internet servers and have two test Linux servers that are not connected to the net. I don't really get what you are asking. I know that if you want to do anything with with administration in mind you have to log in as root.

Please further explain your problem then I could peobably help you.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Apprentice Deity
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

Niagara Falls (On the wrong side of the gorge)
    host=name (or IP) of the host the mysql server is on