1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Mysql Count Cant obtain result

hi, i have zero php knowledge so please forgive my stupidity

im trying to count the number of users in my database who have a score higher than a given score the query works fine when run through phpmyadmin but im having problems getting results from my php script

the query - $query = "SELECT COUNT(*) FROM `scores` WHERE `score` > '$score'";

and heres what i have so far
    <?php
    $db = mysql_connect('localhost', 'honeycom_hive', 'Asd_FG33') or die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
    mysql_select_db('honeycom_hive_scores') or die('Could not select database');

// Strings must be escaped to prevent SQL injection attack.
    $name = mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['name'], $db);
    $score = mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['score'], $db);
    $hash = $_GET['hash'];

$secretKey="mysecretkey"; # Change this value to match the value stored in the client javascript below

$real_hash = md5($name . $score . $secretKey);
    if($real_hash == $hash) {
    // Send variables for the MySQL database class.
    $query = "SELECT COUNT(*) FROM `scores` WHERE `score` > '$score'";
    $result = mysql_query($query) or die('Query failed: ' . mysql_error());
    $num_results = mysql_num_rows($result);

while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) {
    echo $row[$score];

}
    m //mysql_free_result($result);
    mysql_result($result, 0);
    }
    ?>

if it helps im trying to get the result back into unity3d but believe my problem is in the php script, any help would be greatly appreciated
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

So, 'scores' is your table name AND column name we're working with here? Just making sure. Maybe try altering your statement as:
    PHP Code:
    $query "SELECT COUNT(*) FROM `scores` WHERE `score` > " $score