1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

MySQL PHP Variables

I am still new to PHP, but have come here to this site before for help. My issue is this I have a database that holds a few users by lastname, firstname in that format every the first query I run it pulls all of the users in a drop down menu. Then I select my user and post to another php script that is suppose to give me more information about that user. However, the variable after it has been passed for the second time it show up as lastname, and that is it. Once I get past that part I can continue with the formatting. Hopefully someone else here will have a solution or a suggestion on where to look to figure this out.

Thank you in advance

Submit.php
    PHP Code:
    <?php 
    mysql_connect
    ("localhost""username""password") or die(mysql_error()); 
    mysql_select_db("database") or die(mysql_error()); 
    $query="SELECT lfname FROM table order by lfname";
    $result mysql_query ($query) or die(mysql_error());
    while(
    $nt=mysql_fetch_array($result)){
    $options.= "<option value=$nt[lfname]>$nt[lfname]</option>";
    }
    echo 
    "</select>";
    mysql_free_result($result); 
    ?>
    <table border="0" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>
    <tr>
    <td>
      <form action = "submit2.php" method = "POST">
        <select name = "names">
          <option value="<?='$options'?>"
            <?="$options"?>
          </option>
        </select>
      </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
      <td>
        <input type = "submit" value = "submit" /><input type = "reset" value = "Reset" />
      </td>
    </tr>
      </form>
    </table>
    Submit2.php
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    mysql_connect
    ('localhost''username''password') or die(mysql_error()); 
    mysql_select_db('database') or die(mysql_error()); 
    $names $_POST['names'];
    $sql = ("SELECT lfname FROM table where lfname = '$names'");
    $result "mysql_query($sql) or die(mysql_error())";
    while(