Thread: MySQLi OOP

1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

MySQLi OOP

So I'm a couple weeks and several thousand lines of code into my current project. I'm still learning PHP and it has recently come to my attention that MySQL functions are being deprecated. Unfortunately I need to go back and change everything MYSQL related to MySQLi.

I feel a little stressed with a long road ahead of me and not knowing much beyond the basics of OOP.

Is it possible to write the four basic CRUD functions inside a class and simply pass the SQL to the given function needed as a variable, or will I be required to write out queries and while loops for every single query?

The latter seems like a daunting task and very messy compared to just using the old MySQL syntax that is being phased out.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

first of all: If your current database code is OK and secure (with every value wrapped in mysql_real_escape_string), you do not need to switch to MySQLi now. The old extension is indeed deprecated, but that doesn't mean it will be removed tomorrow. The PHP developers are well aware that this would break many websites, so they will certainly keep the extensions for some more years.

Personally, I'm a strong advocate of MySQLi and PDO, but only if you actually use the new features (like prepared statements). If you merely replace mysql_query() with mysqli_query(), you haven't really gained anything.

So don't panic, don't rush things. If you think you need an update, do it gradually on a test system and replace the old query functions "by hand" so that you can use the new features.