1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Hi,

I have been attempting to set up a very basic protected page. This would be based on a cookie. I know that it is easily cracked however I don't care if it's cracked.

I am using PHP 3 (since my web host hasn't upgraded yet to PHP 4). Basically, I have checked for a cookie, than cross-checked it with my database. If it's good, they will see a page, if not, they don't.

In MSIE 5.0 the page works fine. I have tested it with a cookie, deleting the cookie and creating my own cookie. MSIE handles each response appropriately.

Netscape loads the appropriate page, however it doesn't render. The page continues to say that it's loading. When I stop the browser to view the source, my page is there but it doesn't show on my screen.

Since I am a newbie to PHP, I was curious if it was a problem with my code or if it was a problem with Netscape that every other programmer knows about. I have included the code just in case. The actual HTML pages has been omitted as with critical information about my database.

Thanks for your time.

Richard Fujimoto
    Fuji Creations, Inc. http://wwww.fujicreations.com

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica">code:</font><HR><pre>

<?php

function showheader ($title){
    ?>
    <html><head><title><?php echo $title ?>
    </title><link rel="stylesheet" href="styles.css"></head>
    <?php
    }

function showfooter() {
    ?>
    </body></html><?php}if ($user_name AND $id_hash) {
    $db = mysql_connect("localhost", "?????"); mysql_select_db("??????", $db);

$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ???? WHERE (user_name='$user_name')"); $info = mysql_fetch_array($query);

if (mysql_num_rows($query) < 1 ) {

showheader("You are unauthorized to view this page"); ?> <body bgcolor="#FFFFFF"> <table cellpadding=5 cellspacing=3 border=0 width=400><tr> <td><font face=arial size=4>Sorry, You Dont Have The Key</td> </tr></table> <?php showfooter(); exit; }