Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Two Noob coding Q's on searching URL's

I'm brand new to PHP coding (but was a old-time VB coder). I figured out how to search a URL for a string using file_get_contents. I also understand I can use DOMDocument but that approach seems confusing to me at this early stage. What I'm looking to figure out is two-fold:

1. I want search a specific site and grab some content there that's date-specific. That date is listed in the site's Title tag so the title tag will say something like: <title>This weekend's stats for February 22-23, 2013 ---</title>.

I can search for the title tag (and find it) but how to I go about actually turning just the key piece I need into a string? Essentially the "middle piece of my string is dynamic. I'm sure regex is involved.

2. Also on this page I need to find roughly 80 pieces of data that will be all the same except for one unknown string in the middle of 80 TD/URL/name tags (movie titles). How do I get the 80 items into an array? I guess I'll use a FOR loop or WHILE loop but what's the code for this look like to get those lines into strings?

Thanks. At this point I'm hoping someone would be kind enough to provide a code snippet for each of the above.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

1) If you are just looking for the title part then that is simple enough with strpos. Find the starting title tag then locate the closing >. From that index find the closing title tag (</title>) and everything in between is what you want.
    2) Once you have the string you want extracted simply use $myarray[]=$mystring. That will append the string to the array as a new element. You can get the size of the array later with count.
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  5. Mad Scientist