1. No Profile Picture
    frequent PHP idiot
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Objects & html structure

I'm new to OOP and want to make sure I'm writing cleanly. I have several classes, each for a particular piece of my application. Should I leave HTML inside these methods or should I just be call various methods within a PHP/HTML page to display the data.

The problem I'm running into is that my methods are starting to get pretty sloppy with a mix of method calls and echoed HTML.

Say for instance I have a class to display projects and another to display comments. Should I just create an HTML template for each class and then include those template pages?

What's the best structure to do this?
  3. Code Monkey V. 0.9
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

As far as I'm concerned you should always separate the PHP and HTML (where-ever possible). You've seen that it gets messy trying to output HTML inside your classes, and it only gets worse as things get more complex.
  5. Banned
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

you should use a dedicated template engine like Twig or Smarty.

Mixing PHP and HTML (and SQL and JavaScript and CSS and whatnot) does not only create a mess. It also couples the visual presentation with the application logic, so whenever you wanna make a small change in the GUI, you have to fumble with the application code. This wastes time, makes things unnecessarily complicated and always comes with the risk of breaking something -- pretty much the last thing you want.

Unfortunately, PHP is more or less based on the idea of writing multilingual spaghetti code, so you need a lot of discipline and good libraries to untangle the languages again. But it's possible.
  7. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)