Thread: Parsing help

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Parsing help

hi all, new to the forum, new to programming. I'm working on a little project, and i could use a little help/guidance.

I'm trying to make a class that will crawl any php source, and then build an array of all the classes and their methods.

I'm totally new to programming and have no clue where to start or how to get it done. so i would like any feedback you guys might have, if there are any libraries or classes that do this.

Thanks,
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Look at the reflectionClass.

Note that recursively parsing programming language syntax is not the best way to learn a language. It's a bit out of your depth.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin

"The greatest tragedy of this changing society is that people who never knew what it was like before will simply assume that this is the way things are supposed to be." -2600 Magazine, Fall 2002

Think we're being rude? Maybe you asked a bad question or you're a Help Vampire. Trying to argue intelligently? Please read this.
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks, That's the ticket. My main objective here is to create an intuitive UI to navigate through my framework's classes and methods. And i just needed a place to start, so thanks.

I was looking at using regex to parse the files as plain text, but i did not want to get into that kind of dredging.... so thanks i never knew about the ReflectionClass AWESOME!
  7. Sarcky

Always describe your problem. Don't ask how to do what you've decided is the solution.

PHPDocumenter does this already.

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin