1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Passing drop down selected value to same form

Hi,

I am fairly new to PHP (having worked only on DB2 & MS SQL for so long) and I require the following functionality for one my projects.

1. Choose a value from a given drop down box
    2. Take this chosen value, query the database to obtain certain rows
    3. Display these rows (from the DB) on another drop down box.

I have achieved step 1 of this. But not sure how to proceed further.

Any help (if possible, so pseudo code) would be really helpful.

Thanks
    Prashanth
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

not sure how we can help you with that. What you need to know is how to make queries and how PHP generally works. The code itself will just be something like
    Code:
    selected_value := POST.name
    rows := query('SELECT column FROM table WHERE value = (selected_value)')
    for row in rows:
    	print "<option>(row.column)</option>"
    (Please don't take this literally! You cannot just dump the values into the query string or the HTML markup, because this will lead to massive security holes.)

For the query, use prepared statements in the PDO interface or the MySQLi library. Don't use the ancient "mysql_" functions that you still see everywhere. They're long obsolete and shouldn't be used at all in new code.
  5. No Profile Picture

Hi,

I understand what you are saying. But .POST works if you have to send from one file to another right? But here, I want it within the same file.

Cheers
    Prashanth
  7. --

It doesn't matter if it's the same file. A POST request simply sends data to a URL. The origin of the data is completely irrelevant. It doesn't even have to come from a web form, you might as well write the HTTP request "by hand".

I mean, just try it out: Make a form script and set the action attribute to the script itself.