1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Problem with php ( if and )

Hello , i am a beginner in php but i've already wrote my own registration script with mysql etc :P kinda working on it now.

So the problem:

PHP Code:
    if($_POST['email']=="" && (strlen($_POST['email'] <=10))){   die("Email is incorrect");   } 
    it doesnt recognize strlen somehow,
    what im trying to do is connecting two ifs

Trying to make 1 if instead of 2, example:
    PHP Code:
    if($_POST['email']==""){   die("Email is incorrect");   }
    if (
    strlen($_POST['email'] <=10))){   die("Email is incorrect");   } 
  3. No Profile Picture

agh never mind i already have a solution
  5. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

You probably want to use || instead of &&, although the first condition is actually completely redundant - if $_POST['email'] == "" then strlen($_POST['email']) can't possible by greater than 10.

Validating an E-Mail address using a minimum length of 10 seems kind of arbitrary. There are valid E-Mail addresses under 10 characters long. You might want to look at the filter_var function instead or use a basic regular expression like ^[^@]+@.+$
    PHP FAQ

Originally Posted by Spad
    Ah USB, the only rectangular connector where you have to make 3 attempts before you get it the right way around
  7. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by E-Oreo
    You probably want to use || instead of &&, although the first condition is actually completely redundant - if $_POST['email'] == "" then strlen($_POST['email']) can't possible by greater than 10.

Validating an E-Mail address using a minimum length of 10 seems kind of arbitrary. There are valid E-Mail addresses under 10 characters long. You might want to look at the filter_var function instead or use a basic regular expression like ^[^@]+@.+$
    I've read all kind of stuff about filter ,
    now i tried to use :
    $email = $_POST['email'];