Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

PHP includes with echo help

I am a newbie at PHP and yes some people will probably laugh at my newbie question.

So far I have learnt that you can use PHP includes to retrieve data/text from another page and print/display it, which is very useful to me as I only need to have one header, footer page etc. and I can just use echo to display/print the data.

What I would like to do is that I have pages where I have different content in the one page, but I want to include parts of this content on different sections of the page. I have tried this and it works great:

The page with the data/text/html to include:

PHP Code:
    <?php
    $title
    ='This page has a name';

$description='Info that describes this page';
    ?>

The page that I wan't the data/text to appear on:

PHP Code:
    <table border="1" width="100%">
    <tr>
    <td width="100%"><?php include 'this_page.php';
    echo 
    "$title?></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td width="100%"><?php include 'this_page.php';
    echo 
    "$description?></td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    This works, but the only problem I face is that the text/data I want to include can also be html code or text that has " or ' or + or $ symbols in it and obviously this gives an error. I understand that because this html/symbols appears in between the <php> tag that this error will occur, is there a way around this?

And also is using echo the best approach or is there a simpler/more efficient way of going about displaying content on different parts of the page?
    I did look in the stickies and tried a search but couldn't find anything relevant to my question.

Thank you for any help
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

i am not sure why if you have

$title = '$+something'; giving you errors?

point 1: look at your include statements?
    point 2: redundant "" around echo $title..