Thread: PHP jobs

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

PHP jobs

Hey,

I hope this the right forum to post this in. I was just hoping to get some advice on jobs in php development.

My background is I have a computer science degree but I've been working in consultancy since graduation for around 4 years. Following that I worked on a support role where I worked with drupal,php,html,css etc for around a year.

I then left to work on my own project which I built in PHP using codeigniter. The project hasn't really taken off so I need to go back to work.

I loved the work I've done in web dev and really want to carry on doing it. But all the jobs I see require several years experience and you have to have extensive javascript, etc

As a 29 year old is it too late for me to try and move into PHP dev? Is there any advice you can give to how I can try and get jobs? I've been sending my CV around but not hearing back. I really don't want to move back into consultancy.

I don't mind about the salary as I figure I need to prove myself as I don't really have commercial experience in PHP dev. I live in the east bay of CA and competition is pretty tough.

Thanks for any advice!
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

East bay is going to be cutthroat, nothing you can do about that.

You graduated, worked as a general purpose consultant for 4 years, worked support for a web/php project for a year, then were self-employed on a PHP project for an additional year? That would be enough experience for most entry-level junior dev roles. I wonder why you're having such trouble.