1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

New project & further steps

Hello,

As some of you might know, I've been learning PHP for the past 3 months, and it has been going very well. Last week I have finished my first fully working blog system, and now I'm working on my next step; a system like the site interpals.

I want to make a website where you can add friends and discuss on forums. I would also like to make it so that you can post messages on eachothers profile, and perhaps even include inbox messages.

My question is; is this a good project for practice, when I've finished a blog cms thing?

I'm also wondering, now that I have some basic understanding of PHP; is it wise to delve into OOP, or FrameWorks? My goal is to get an internship at a really cool webdevelopment agency next year, as they're looking for interns, and I want to be of value with some decent knowledge and skills so that I can actually contribute, as well as learn lots of new things.
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Definitely dive into OOP, anything "procedural" is not going to scale. I'm surprised you got a working CMS without classes.

A social network is a decent way to explore because there's so any different features you can add on to the core, but it will never be very large if you're doing it as a first project. There's secrets and techniques of data design and code efficiency that you just won't know about until much later in your career.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin

"The greatest tragedy of this changing society is that people who never knew what it was like before will simply assume that this is the way things are supposed to be." -2600 Magazine, Fall 2002