Thread: Redirection

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Redirection

Hi to all:

This is my first time on this forum which reflects my status as a new PHP coder. After many frustrating hours fighting with the "meta tag" and its refresh method it finally revealed to me that the event did not take place until after the code was exited and if there was more than "one tag" the last one got the prize - talk about stochastic. I also tried the "header" solution but that wipes out any preceding "alert" popups which is what I am trying, ultimately to do. If I encounter a user error I want to exit the page and present the message and then cycle back to the main page. The key point here is exit at that point!! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I should mention that I have done a workaround with "if then else" logic but I would really like to know if such a "redirection-immediately exit" tool is available. Again, thanks in advance.
  3. Come play with me!
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

header() will make the browser do nothing but redirect. It won't show HTML, it won't run Javascript. In fact you shouldn't be outputting anything at all if you redirect that way*.

The best solution, in general, is to immediately redirect to whatever page you want to redirect to and show the error message there. No interstitial page - it's just confusing.

That aside you can
    a) Use Javascript to redirect, since you're using it for the message anyways.
    b) Use a <meta> to redirect after a few seconds, giving them time to read messages and whatever.
    c) Give the user a link to click so they can go back to whatever page on their own time.

* Besides maybe a message (that users probably won't see) that tells them they're being redirected, but that's only for browsers that don't understand redirections well enough and they've all but died out now.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by requinix