1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Restrict access by a file

I am not a programmer, but just a student.
    I want to install a wordpress blog in a local machine using xampp server.
    But if someone copies the folder from the pc and takes it to their pc, the page shouldnt work.
    I think perhaps i can restrict access to systems having a hidden file somewhere in system32 folder or so.
    How can I code this?
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

So you want to be able to make a website where if someone takes the source code, they won't be able to use it?

You can't really do that. If someone has access to the code, they have access to the code. The solutions to this problem usually revolve around encrypting/obfuscating the code and including a secret key or phone-home mechanism which will prevent the site from working anywhere but on authorized servers. Both solutions require a lot more skill than you currently have.

You can purchase PHP encryption software like ioncube to do this.

However, all of that is moot since you said it's a normal wordpress blog. Wordpress can already be acquired by anyone, why are you bothering to try to secure it?

System32 has nothing to do with this and is a red herring.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin

"The greatest tragedy of this changing society is that people who never knew what it was like before will simply assume that this is the way things are supposed to be." -2600 Magazine, Fall 2002

Think we're being rude? Maybe you asked a bad question or you're a Help Vampire. Trying to argue intelligently? Please read this.
  5. Contributing User

if you are just worried about someone physically stealing your code then you might be able to just use: TrueCrypt and it's free.
    Last edited by Strider64; June 24th, 2013 at 10:12 AM.