1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I have a page rigged up where someone has to enter a name and password, and then below it some variables that they enter along with it. If it is the correct password and username, I need the data they entered after it to be sent to another file - one that can be automatically updated as it recieves the data. I know this is somewhat vague, but I have limited databasing knowledge... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Mystic
  3. Banned (not really)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Do you already have a way of checking the username and password, or are you asking for that too?

I'm having a hard time understanding exactly what you want...

If you have values submitted to one page, and you want to pass them along to another page, then you either have to put them into the url, or create another form and submit it. Let's say your other variables are $color, $food, and $pet. If you want to make a link that'll carry these variables to another page, you'd use:

<?php
    echo "<a href="page3.php?color=$color&food=$food&pet=$pet">Click here</a>";
    ?>

now..if you want it so the user doesn't have to click on anything, then you'd have to do something like this...

<body onload="document.form_name.submit();">
    <form method="post" action="page3.php" name="form_name">
    <input type=hidden name="color" value="<?php echo $color; ?>">
    <input type=hidden name="food" value="<?php echo $food; ?>">
    <input type=hidden name="pet" value="<?php echo $pet; ?>">
    </form>
    </body>

Modify and salt to taste...

Do you really need to send these variable to a third page? why not have everything on the page that checks the username and password? Or maybe i'm way off base already....

---John Holmes...

[This message has been edited by SepodatiCreations (edited October 22, 2000).]
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks... so far.