1. No Profile Picture
    antfarm
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
    I'm new to the whole php/database server thing. I have a WinNT machine with Apache for NT running on it. The tut here shows how you do it for Unix/Linux boxes, I'd like to stick w/ NT for now. When I went to mysql.net, they had a ver. for windows but one that was only a demo. The Linux ver. is free of course. I don't want to have to pay so I can run a few php scripts. I mean Apache for Windows is free. Is there some other way? Also, the php downlaod that I saw for Windows is designed for the MS IIS server. I definitely don't want to run that, cuz Apache is far better, where can I get php for Apache on an NT machine? Maybe I'm misunderstanding something. Thanks for the info.
  3. No Profile Picture
    jpenix
    PHP's own manual covers installation with Apache under Windows 95/NT.

See here: http://www.php.net/manual/install-windows95-nt.php3

You don't need MySQL for PHP scripts to use a database. You can connect it to an MSAccess database using ODBC, or you can connect it to SQL server (if you have BackOffice), or Sybase or Oracle, etc, etc. Check out PHP's list of supported DBs.

(On a side note - Be careful with the MySQL licensing - the current version isn't totally free, even under Linux. It's free for internal use, but if you sell it as part of a product or charge for installing and maintaining it, you gotta pay the license fee (which is very reasonable)).
  5. No Profile Picture
    antfarm
    Thanks. That helped, but now I don't seem to be able to run scripts. However there are no errors at all int he apache error log. When I insert this:<br>
    "<? today = date("Y-m-d");<br>
    PRINT "<CENTER>Today is:$today.</CENTER>";<br>
    ?><br>

into my index.htm file, nothing happens at all. It's as if nothing was there, but if you look at the source the php code is there. Could it be b/c I have apache under a long directory name? It's in