1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Best way to start of with Dynamic Web Development?

I am a Application Developer but have been wanting to get into web development since quite a while now. First Query that I came across was how to get started?

Second, what platform should I use for web development? As in what is the general trend that people follow while designing dynamic web content? Is Text Editor the most prominent or software's like Dreamweaver VS etc ?

I want to concentrate on HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript with PHP / MYSQL etc as Back-ends.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

Originally Posted by hitechito

I want to concentrate on HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript with PHP / MYSQL etc as Back-ends.
    you answered yourself. If these are the skills you want then learn them. Go on youtube tutorials, books, websites etc to learn the basics.

Then create an example website to further learn etc.
  5. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

Originally Posted by hitechito
    Before you choose a programming language and a database system, you should actually evaluate the different possibilities. Sure, PHP together with MySQL is the first combination that pops up when you do a search for "web developing". But that doesn't mean it's the best variant. I don't wanna start yet another flame war, but MySQL is rather limited compared to fully-featured database systems like PostgreSQL, Oracle etc. And PHP tends to be a bit chaotic and verbose.

So have a look around, try different languages (Ruby, Python, Perl, PHP) and then choose the one that fits your needs and preferences. If you end up with PHP and MySQL again (for whatever reason), that's fine. But you shouldn't use them just because they're all you know.