1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Taking Up A Big PHP Project - Suggestions Please

Its been a year since I started learning PHP.
    And I'm feeling excited to go for a big project.
    So, I've decided to code a forum CMS right from scratch. I'll be a simple one. I'll be using these tools and concepts :
    • Simple PHP
    • HTML/CSS
    • jQuery
    • PHPass
    • PHP Active Record ORM
    • Twig Template Engine
    • PHP OOPS
    • Geshi Syntax Highlighter(for code syntax highlighting)
    • PDO

So, all I need is some suggestions if I should change or remove or add any tools here.
    Any tips you'd like to give on how to proceed.
    Any features you'd like to suggest me to add in the CMS.

I'm not using a framework as I dont have experience of using any and it'll take me too much time to learn to use one..

I'll also be taking some ideas and concepts from existing ones like myBB, IPB, vBulletin, SMF, etc especially for DBMS..

So, any tips, you're welcome...
  3. Mad Scientist
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

when specifying your project, take account of what all the user actions will be, when they're allowed to happen and what needs to happen for each action/event.

You'll see just how quickly a big project just gets bigger, and by listing the actions/events you can decide which to prioritise and which to add in later

You might also find yourself trying to design a system that allows for the addition of omitted features later...this adds a layer of complexity in its self

So, although you don't want to use an exiting framework, you might find yourself inventing anew one just for your app
    I said I didn't like ORM!!! <?php $this->model->update($this->request->resources[0])->set($this->request->getData())->getData('count'); ?>

PDO vs mysql_* functions: Find a Migration Guide Here