1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unable to access database using mysqli

I have some knowledge of php and mysql but am new to mysqli.
    I have just installed apache with PHP version 5.3.15 on my iMac and am trying to write a program that uses mysqli to access a database, but get an error -
    'Warning: mysqli::mysqli() [mysqli.mysqli]: [2002] No such file or directory (trying to connect via unix:///var/mysql/mysql.sock) in /Library/WebServer/Documents/addPlayer.php on line 26

Warning: mysqli::mysqli() [mysqli.mysqli]: (HY000/2002): No such file or directory in /Library/WebServer/Documents/addPlayer.php on line 26
    Unable to connect to database [No such file or directory]'

I checked the phpinfo() file and mysqli is there.

The code is -

$db = new mysqli('localhost', 'user', 'pass', 'demo');

if($db->connect_errno > 0){
    die('Unable to connect to database [' . $db->connect_error . ']');
    }else{
    echo 'Connected';
    }

Any suggestions
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Your MySQL daemon is not running.

P.S. When posting code, use [ PHP ] tags. See the sticky at the top of this forum.
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Put this in a file called phpinfo.php in the document root

PHP Code:
    <?php
    phpinfo
    ();
    ?>
    Now, open the file
    http://localhost/phpinfo.php

Scroll down the page to the Configuration. The sections are listed in alphabetical order. Is mysqli listed?
  7. No Profile Picture

How do I start the daemon. Is that thro the apache config file.
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

No. How you start it depends on the OS. Generally with Linux you use 'service mysqld start' or 'mysqlctl'. However, you probably want to have it start on boot, in which case you also need to use 'chkconfig' once.