1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Smile UPDATE mysql table data using form

Good day guys im new here in you community, first of all im a noob in building website and php code, I just learn on google by reading tutorials and experiment by try and error.

So i had this a problem with this tutorial

http: //w w w . phpeasystep. com /mysql/9. html

Because i want to have a Edit button on my row. I connect the table and mysql perfectly and all script is working, but after i replace the old one nothing happens, it doesnt update the mysql table. but after i send the Submit button it saids "Successfully". but i check my table nothing happen.

I search on google for some related topic i see some errors on connecting id but im sure i have a hidden input for id for the step 4 .

This is the code for my update

update data in mysql database
    $sql="UPDATE $tbl_name SET name='$name', lastname='$lastname', email='$email' WHERE id='$id'";
    $result=mysql_query($sql);

and this is sample form and get the value in my mysql table

<input name="name" type="text" id="name" value="<? echo $rows['name']; ?>">

Im willing to cooperate thanks.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

As a noob STOP!!! DO NOT use the deprecated MySQL extensions. Switch to PDO. It makes no sense to learn PHP using obsolete techniques.

Did you echo your query to make sure it contains what you expect? Where is your error checking code?

P.S. Please enclose your code in [ PHP ] tags. See the sticky at the top of this forum. Also read ManiacDan's New User Guide for debugging techniques and common problems.
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  5. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

apart from what gw1500se already said about the obsolete database functions: