1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

XPath and getting the next child node

This is my first time using XPath to parse a DOM document. I was able to find the tag I want using query. However, I can't find an example that explains how to do what I want next. All the examples simply echo the found node(s). In my case I need to drill down until I find a DIV child to extract some text. How do I use the result from XPath to get subsequent child nodes with DOM? TIA.
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  3. Come play with me!
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

XPath is to SQL as DOMDocument/SimpleXMLElement are to MySQL. One pair lets you do a query for stuff handled by the second pair.

What's your code? XPath gives you a list of nodes, so from there you can just .childNodes (assuming DOM) to go further. But I bet you can write a better XPath query to get what you want, or at least a lot closer than you're getting now.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Thanks for the reply. I didn't realize it was that simple since there were no examples I could find. I thought XPath returned an object different than that of DOM. This is my code with my presumed next step.
    PHP Code:
    $dom=new DOMDocument();
    $dom->loadHTML("http://somewebsite.com/judges.php?str=".str_replace(" ","+",$_POST['name']."&search=Search"));
    $xpath=new DOMXPath($dom);
    $tags $xpath->query('//*[@class="smallTextList"]');
    $children=$tags->item(0)->childNodes(); // there is only one tag with a class of this type 
    I don't know how there is an easier way since there are no classes or ids on any tags below this point but any suggestions would be appreciated.
    Last edited by gw1500se; October 6th, 2012 at 06:25 PM.
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  7. Come play with me!