1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I'm a web developer and I need to justify the use of PHP to a number of clients. Their main worry seems to be security. I need to be able to explain to them WHY it is safe, and that it is not easy for hackers to crack.
    I'm having to compare it to an ASP based solution.

I must make it clear that I'm NOT trying to find out how to hack, so DO NOT reply with suggestions of how to get into sites. I just need to know why PHP is safer than ASP etc.

I also need to know about MySQL security too.

So some questions:

Is it possible for people to browse and see the raw PHP code behind a page? If not why not.

Is it possible for people to make any kind of wierd call to a PHP script which will do strange things (I heard that ASP can suffer from this)?

When hosting a PHP/MySQL website, what should we be look out for in terms of making it more secure i.e. DOs and DONTs.

Does anyone know of any good ASP flames which I could use i.e. ASP is bad because.... or PHP is better than ASP because.....

PS The base OS will more than likelly be LINUX.

Thank you in advance for any help.

Paul
  3. No Profile Picture
    Apprentice Deity
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

Niagara Falls (On the wrong side of the gorge)
    PHP, ASP, etc. are tools. As with any tool it can be dangerous or safe. It depends on the person weilding it.

The server software is more prone to attack (and the potential damage is greater) than a scripting language such as PHP. PHP can also be dangerous but only so far as that it can be used to send commands directly to the server. As long as your code doesn't include any exec(), virtual(), etc system calls (and or the information in the calls is not created dynamically based on user input) you won't have any problems.

As long as the webserver is working and configured correctly there is no way someone can see the PHP source thru a web browser.