1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question FORTRAN for Web Development?

I have a client I've been doing PHP projects with for several years, and he has been trying to get a few of his colleagues to go with me for a couple of months now to do similar projects. He says they are choosing to stick with their current developer because:

1) He develops their apps in FORTRAN.
    2) He says he uses FORTRAN because it is secure.

Have any of you heard anything like this before?

Thanks.
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Only in jokes or on the DailyWTF. If he's comfortable with Fortran, that's great for him, especially if he can find clients that will pay for it. Similarly, if he's comfortable writing error messages in Latin that's great for him, especially if he can find clients to pay for it. I wouldn't choose to do it that way.

The security of an application is based on a number of things, the least of which, I'd think, is the language used to write it.

-Dan
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin

"The greatest tragedy of this changing society is that people who never knew what it was like before will simply assume that this is the way things are supposed to be." -2600 Magazine, Fall 2002

Think we're being rude? Maybe you asked a bad question or you're a Help Vampire. Trying to argue intelligently? Please read this.
  5. No Profile Picture

Yeah, it sounds completely wonky to me. I've been developing web apps for 15 years and never once have I ever seen or even heard of a web app being developed in FORTRAN. It's pretty much a dead language, is it not? I could be wrong, I guess.

Comments on this post

• Arty Ziff disagrees : Yes, you are wrong. See below.
  7. Null Pointer Exception
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)