1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I'm a complete PHP newbie but I had the luck to get a whole PHP4 system for free that includes also some INC files. All the files (.PHP4, .INC.PHP4 and .INC) are located on different directories like the following:
    www.domainname.com/main/include <- .INC & INC.PHP4 files www.domainname.com/main/main <- main PHP4 files www.domainname.com/main/main/ext <- various secondary PHP4 files needed for popups and others

NOW

My first problem is that this system was already used on another site, so I had to update all the URLs and paths to make it suitable for my site. Even if I tried (as a newbie) to fix them, I still didn't solved several errors I get like wrong paths (or are they URLs?) written on the various include(). Can you tell me what is the right syntax to use depending on the DIFFERENT directories I have? I mean, is it OK just to write i.e. <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana,Arial,Helvetica">code:</font><HR><pre>include("timestamp2utime.php4");[/code] whatever the directory is or have I to follow the right 'tree' path?

My second problem is... As I got an already used PHP4 system I got those famous .INC files already filled by old datas. What should I do if I would like to use them completely cleared and ready for my site? Also have I to give them a specific CHMOD (at the moment they're 664?

------------------
    Cr4z33
    ==================
    Pizza r00000x!!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Robert_J_Sherman
    Let me see if I can answer the question about using the include() and/or require() function(s).

basically these functions are the same, but obviously different.

Anyway, here's what I can tell you about using the function.

First, are you familiar with using SSI? If so, then you are already quite familiar with the include() and require() functions.

In your include statement simply put the "full" or "virtual" path to the file you wish to be included..