Page 1 of 3 123 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Encyption Decryption

Hello ,
    I am trying to write my own encryption - decryption method , and as I am new in programming I have some troubles based on the way I have to do this. I know it is possible with javascript but I want to learn if I can do it with php.
    What exactly I mean ...

Supposly I have a form :
    Code:
    <form name="test" method="post" action="#">
    <textarea name="text" cols="50" rows="4" id="detail"></textarea>
    <input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Submit"> 
    </form>
    My idea is based on bit encryption method
    for example a= 0001 , b = 0010 etc .

The current script works perfect if I 'll submit only 'a' or 'b' :

Code:
    <?php

$encrypt= $_POST['text'];
    $a='0001';
    $b='0010';

if (  $encrypt =='a' ) {
    $encrypt= $a;
    }
    if (  $encrypt =='b' ) {
    $encrypt= $b;
    }

echo $encrypt;

echo '</br>';

$decrypt = $encrypt;

if ($decrypt=='0001'){
    $decrypt= 'a';
    }
    if ( $decrypt=='0010'){
    $decrypt= 'b' ;
    }

echo $decrypt;

?>

But if I will submit 'ab' it won't print '00010010' but 'ab'

I am looking for a way to make this works even I will submit 'ab'

Is that possible ????
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

This should get you started but you will need to figure out the 2nd set of 'if's when 'ab' is specified.
    PHP Code:
    $bits="";
    if (  
    $encrypt =='a' ) {

$bits.= "$a";
    }
    if (  
    $encrypt =='b' ) {

$bits.= "$b";
    }
    echo 
    $bits;
    $decrypt="$bits"
    Note the use of [ PHP ] tags rather than [ CODE ] tags for PHP.

P.S. This is not encryption so you might need to better explain what you are trying to accomplish.
    Last edited by gw1500se; November 16th, 2012 at 01:20 PM.
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  5. Sarcky