Thread: Code Error

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Code Error

I am getting a syntax error unexpected T_Variable at line 95 (which is the SELECT query line. I have 3 fields in a database and need to select only 1 which is dependant upon the value of another variable.

IE. If var1 MyType=1 the var2 SClass should be set to the relevent field in table, and so on. I am a novice in php and have coded as follows
    Code:
    If ($MyType='1') {
    	     $Class = 'SClass1';  
    		 }else {
                    If ($MyType=2) {
    		        $Class = 'SClass2';  
                     }else {
                            If ($MyType=3) {
                            $Class = 'SClass3;;
    	                    }
    						}

$qry="SELECT $Class FROM patient WHERE UID='$MyName'";
    	     if(!$result) {
    	     die('Failed to Update ' . mysql_error());
    		 } Else {
    	     $result=mysql_query($qry); 
             $row = mysql_fetch_array($result); 
             $MyClass = $row['$Class']; 
    		 }
    	var_dump($_POST);

//Create Insert query and test it is OK
    	$qry = "INSERT INTO siezure_event(Patient_UID,Medication,Siezure_Type,Seizure_Class,Siezure_Date,Siezure_Time,Notes) VALUES ('$MyName', '$MyMed', '$SType', '$MyClass', '$PostDate', '$MyTOD', '$MyNotes')";
    	$result = @mysql_query($qry);
    	if(!$result) {
    	die('Failed to Update ' . mysql_error());
    Given the synatx error, I suspect I cannot select a $variable from a table. Could someone please advise me
  3. No Profile Picture

I dont know on this one, but as a first glance have you tried takin away the ' from either side of $class as its not text you are entering
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by Cyd44
    $result = @mysql_query($qry);
    Or it could be that line!, take out the @ symbol.

And i normally use a $result2 for a second value
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)