1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

PHP Form Validation Input Error

Hello,

I'm fairly new to PHP and after a tutorial, I have the following PHP form validation code:

PHP Code:
    if(isset($_POST['name'], $_POST['email'], $_POST['phone'], $_POST['message'])){
    $errors = array();

if(empty(
    $name) || empty($email) || empty($phone) || empty($message))
    {
    $errors[] = 'All fields are required.';}
    else{

if(
    strlen($name) < 3)
    {
    $errors[] = 'Name is too short.';}

if (!
    preg_match("/^(1-?)?(\([2-9]\d{2}\)|[2-9]\d{2})-?[2-9]\d{2}-?\d{4}$/"$phone))
    {
    $errors[] = 'Please specify a valid phone number.';}

if(
    filter_var($emailFILTER_VALIDATE_EMAIL) == FALSE)
    {
    $errors[] = 'Please specify a valid email address.';}
    }

if(!empty(
    $errors))
    {foreach(
    $errors as $error){
       echo 
    $error;
    }
    }
    else{
    mail($emailTo$emailSubject$body$headers);
    }

I'm trying to get the error messages to display next to the input fields on my form, and not on the top of the form. Any assistance would be helpful. Thank you.

HTML Input Excerpt:
    <form id="form" method="post" action="">
    <fieldset>
    <legend>Contact Info</legend>
    <label>Your Name<span class="red">*</span></label>
    <input type="text" name="name" id="name" class="required letters" value="<?php echo $_POST['name']; ?>"/>
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

Rather than sequentially push the errors onto the array, use an associative array where the key is the field next to which you want it to display. Then when you redisplay the form, you use the key to determine if that particular error 'isset' and display it.