1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

MySQL newbie here

I'm taking old (PHP) code from the mid 2000's and trying to get it working with the latest MySQL (5.1.66-0+squeeze1) running under Debian. I am very well versed in Linux and even PHP but new(ish) to MySQL. I am using phpMyAdmin to work with the database.

Anyway, this older code makes this call:
    Code:
    if( $port != 0 ) {
    	$query="select * from config 
    			where type like 'prog' and 
    			port = $port and 
    			command not like '*3%'
    			order by command, sub";
    } else {
    	$query="select * from config 
    			where type like 'prog' and 
    			tab = '$tab' and 
    			command not like '*3%'
    			order by command, sub";
    }

And SQL balks as:

ack! query failed:
    errorno=1064
    error=You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'order by description' at line 1
    query=select * from config where type like 'prog' and command like '*3%' and port = order by description

There are no mysql error logs to look at, nor anything is syslogs either
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

the queries of your PHP snippet are not the ones throwing the error, as you can see in the error message.

This is the query you wanna look at:
    Code:
    select * from config where type like 'prog' and command like '*3%' and port = order by description
    After the "port =", there's no value. So you have to add something there (whatever that might be):
    Code:
    SELECT
    FROM
    WHERE
    	AND port = ???
    ORDER BY
    	description
  5. No Profile Picture

Yea, I see I copied from the wrong file. The following is correct:

Code:
    $query="select * from config where type like 'prog' and command like '*3%' and port = $port order by description";
    I'm trying to figure out where $port is being assigned as that appears to be the cause of the failure.