1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Admin editable portfolio

I am sorry if this is a stupid question, but I have been searching google plenty and no matter how I ask it I cannot find what I am looking for. Ok enough babbling, I am building a site for my Dad to serve as his reference guide for jobs and for freelancing. The particular part I am interested in is his portfolio. I am wondering how to start a script that will allow him and only him to edit his portfolio so that I don't have to go back in the code and add more code every time he wants to make a change. So, I would be looking for something that will allow him to move, delete, re size, categorize, label his portfolio. In no way am I asking for you to code this for me or anything of that sort. I am just asking maybe where to look or even a starting point. I have some knowledge of PHP, and have HTML and CSS knowledge. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

To make his data dynamic you will need to rewrite your code. Rather than hard code the information you will need to maintain it in a database (probably MySQL). You can start here.
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

thanks for the reply. Ok that solves the issue of everything being dynamic but still does not cover how to make it be able to move, delete, re size, categorize, label the images.
  7. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Not to put too fine a point on it: you do it in code.

Everything you want to change must be an application that allows that data to be changed. Label a picture? Put the label in a database, make an "edit" button on the page, make an editable input box, process that input, and update the database.

Rinse and repeat for everything.
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules