1. A Change of Season
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

PHP vs JAVA vs SQL

I am in a situaiton I could use some advice from both programmers and business runners.

I am a mid level programmer in Australia. Average level of practical knowledge of PHP, MySql, OOP (Codeigniter), html, css and Jquery.

My brother works for Google in NY. He is 6 years younger than (he's 25) me and he is making 130.000 a year plus bonuses.

I will be relocating there within next 6-12 months and I get a chance to be interviewed as a programmer.

As that is a real gig, I am going to have to improve my skill before I go there.

I wonder which one to focus on:

1 - SQL. Get my query writting to the next level.
    2 - PHP OOP. Master oop via php
    3 - Start Java and do my best in 6 months!
    5 - Jquery
    6 - All at the same time.

He told me today, as you are good with backend (database driven sites) focus on Java; backend programmer with no Java skills would be very hard to sell.

Please share your recommendations.

Thank you.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Thumbs up

Well, given that your best source is your brother who's inside, he's going to be able to give you the most worthwhile recommendations. So, get all the inside info you can from him!

Since you said you have no experience working with Java, I would start there. You really already have the skills since you are familiar with object-oriented programming, but you'll want to get acquainted with the Java API and what is used most frequently.

If you haven't done so, I'd recommend checking out the w3schools.com certification program as giving them a certificate(s) adds more value to you as a potential hire.

If possible (within 6 months ), you may want to look into Java Certification , too. That, coupled along with SQL and a back-end skillset is in great demand. You'll be hired in no time, even in this rotting economy.