1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Android Php web application

Ok, so I am very new to android but I have some experience with PHP. I have a website for my college festival where there is a login system and registered users can take the quiz everything.( I am using Codeigniter as my PHP framework Now I have been asked to make an android app for the festival. So , my question is , How do I connect my android application to the stuff on my website.

For example: I have a login system on my website and I want to reflect the same functionality in my android app i.e How to send the username and password to be authenticated and how the request will be processed on the server side? How do I connect my android application to my database ?

Can anyone please point me in the right direction. Thank you very much.

P.S : Yes, I get that I can very easily just make a mobile version of the website as suggested by many people. But since I want to learn Android, I think this would be a good opportunity for me to do so.

<link removed>
    Last edited by E-Oreo; April 9th, 2013 at 09:08 PM.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Through HTTP requests.

Setup a private web service API on your website.

A web service API is simply another interface for your web application. It's not a user interface, as users (other humans) wont be using it. It's a programming interface, meaning other software applications will use it to talk to your app.

A private web service API is simply the same as above, but with some sort of required authentication (to prevent other people using/abusing it), where only you (the dev) can use it.

Less brief explanation of an API (Application Programming Interface):

Currently, your web app has a user interface. This user interface is simply (and normally) the usage of HTML, which the users browser then renders and the user uses it (to do whatever on your site/web app).