Page 1 of 3 123 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Building a MySQL DB

I'm completely lost. I'm new to MySQL and PHP, but I can usually pick this sort of thing up by simply reading a few tutorials.

Iím developing a new website for my employer, and I want it to have an easy to use CMS. I canít get past the database portion of developing a CMS. Iíve looked into designing it by hand as well as using both Joomla and Drupal. There is just something that I am not grasping.

Iíve developed multiple MS Access databases that utilize tables to populate multiple forms with the information that Iíve inputted. In my head, this should be quite similar. I designate in the HTML where to draw the information in the database from, then I have my database, connect it all with whichever language is necessary (PHP), then have a simple, yet attractive admin front end for my employer to use.

Does this not exist? Is it really not this simple, or is there really no program that makes it this simple? Everything that Iíve read in regards to building the database doesnít ever hit on how to connect each table/field to a specific part of the website. So how in the world do I build it and specify each table/field and what page/section of my site to update? I am so incredibly lost!!!

Please somebody help and point me in the right direction! A blank shell example of my site is below, on my testing server:

intelligenceordeath . com / example

Thank you all ahead of time; any and all help will be greatly appreciated!!!

-DZ
  3. SQL Consultant
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Originally Posted by DoctorZeigler
    So how in the world do I build it and specify each table/field and what page/section of my site to update?
    you do this with php

your php code submits a SELECT query to the database, receives the result, and uses the data to generate the html

for more information, ask in the php forum