1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Exclamation Php_printer.dll on Windows Server 2003

Hi,

Hopefully you can help me, I've installed an ordering system in a bar, it's mysql-driven php. To print receipts I used php_printer.dll, the server machine is running Windows XP and I got a version compiled for PHP 5.4 and it works with no problem.

The second bar has a server running Windows Server 2003 and I can't get it to work. I've done the same as on the XP machine, added a line to php.ini and moved the dll into the ext folder, but it doesn't work. It also doesn't come up in phpinfo(). I used the same dll as for XP, I think this should work.

Any ideas? I need to get this printer function working asap!

Thanks in advance.

Also, I have no experience using Windows Server and the entire system is in Chinese, which is making things even more difficult, gotta love China.

-Ifor
  3. Come play with me!
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

The printer extension is old and unmaintained, to put it nicely. It's notoriously difficult to deal with - I'm surprised you got it to work for XP, but if you did then Server 2003 shouldn't be much harder.

Have you tried compiling it for that machine? Anything happen if you restart with display_startup_errors on?
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by requinix
    The printer extension is old and unmaintained, to put it nicely. It's notoriously difficult to deal with - I'm surprised you got it to work for XP, but if you did then Server 2003 shouldn't be much harder.

Have you tried compiling it for that machine? Anything happen if you restart with display_startup_errors on?
    Thanks for the reply.

I would have no idea how to compile the dll from source.

I'll be heading there in a few days and will try with turning error display on.

If it is so archaic, what do people usually use now?

Thanks again.
  7. Come play with me!
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)