Thread: Redirect or not

Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Redirect or not

Hello,

I am new to the web programming. I have a simple question here.

I have a User Registration Form register.php. Right now, I am Redirecting to a register-msg.php page, when the user clicks the Register button. register-msg.php displays the registration successful message "A new user Registered".

Code:
    RedirectToURL("./register-msg.php");
    But I have seen people doing the same thing using the register.php alone. In such case, the entire page content will be inside a <div> and upon successful submission of Registering, we will set the display style of the div to 'none' and the "A new user Registered" message will be displayed by displaying another div.

Code:
    		<div class="err">        
    		<?php
    		if($success){
    		?>
    		<b>Account Info Updated Successfully.</b>
    		<?php
    		}else{
    		?>
    		<b><?= $editaccount_error_msg; ?></b>
    		<?php
    		}
    		?>
    		</div>        

<div style="display:<?= $submitted_dstyle ?>">

<label  for="name" >Name</label>
            <input class="text" name="name" id="name" type="text" title="Type your full name" 
    submitted_dstyle will be set to none on successful submission.

My question is: Which of these methods is technically good and usually followed in web programming ? The second method reduces the number of pages (used to display messages), but will that make any issues (may be with $_POST values or something) ?

Please suggest. Thanks.
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

this display: none stuff is certainly not how to do it. If parts of the content are not supposed to show up, then you don't deliver them at all. Sending "dead content" to the client makes no sense and just wastes bandwith.