1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Understanding Login & Form submission

I am new at PHP. I have created a form to collect data and it works well. What I would like to implement is a login system and from what I've gathered reading the posts on this site is that I should definitely use an existing library as it relates to security.

The problem is that the tutorials for bcrypt and phpass seem to still be a little above my head and I'm not grasping the series of steps I need to complete to full implement the solution.

I have a users table with username, salt, password, etc. Once I create my login page (html) what are the components that I need to understand to tie my form to the script? I am not opposed to reading and learning, I'm just struggling getting off the starting block on this project.

My last assumption is that in order to keep the data submitted safe I should incorporate an SSL, correct?

I appreciate your help and guidance.

Regards,
    Doug
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

a user authentication system is a very bad project for a beginner -- assuming you actually wanna use it afterwards.

It's relatively easy to write an insecure user authentication system, but it's damn hard to implement a good one which protects the security and privacy of all parties. Even professional programmers constantly get this wrong, because there are simply too many mistakes you can make and too many details you can overlook.

I've written down a concept for an authentication system which shows all the things you have to take care of. And that's only a high-level description.

Doing this correctly requires a lot of experience and a very solid understanding of web security. If you're new to PHP, you simply don't have that yet. And since you said that bcrypt is already too complicated for you, it's definitely too early for implemententing user authentication.

Start with non-critical scripts that don't promise security to anybody.