1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Securing a remote script that uploads to server

I am an IT engineer primarily, not a developer, and although I have written loads of PHP for websites I have a problem I don't know how to tackle.

I want to be able to run a script on a local computer - well actually many computers (language not important, it may turn out to be PHP, or for my windows clients C#) that uploads a few values, probably in an XML file to a public webserver.

This needs to happen automatically and I don't know how to secure this. I have full access to the server I will be uploading too so anything is possible, but I am expecting to run apache/php for this. Some of my clients are behind proxy servers so I expect to use POST requests for the upload as direct db access or SSH or SFTP etc may not work.

I need to know how to secure this process, I can easily add a password or access token to the upload script which would stop general access but the script may be on many computers and if someone started playing with it could find and use the token to submit crap. (even if every install has its own token)

How can I produce a system whereby I can authorize my script/program to upload data in a way that can't be easily impersonated.

For reference this will be a system monitoring script, that uploads some stats - disk space, uptime, installed software etc... to a server which records the stats so I can search and report on the data. It will be on all of our servers and eventually possibly desktop computers.

I don't need code examples, I can write that, i'm just not familiar with any techniques for securing such a system.

Any ideas welcome.
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

if you don't trust the clients to keep their data secure, you can forget about authentication. If you even expect your users to actively abuse their upload privilege, the whole "security" is pointless.