1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Script to check license and "call home"

Sorry if this was asked before but I couldnt find anything on the forum, search button wasnt working...

Anyway, I'm a designer and I sell my designs, and I would like to know if it is possible to get a script that would like "control" license and who is using them. Like, if I sell my design to John Doe, and his license is for 1 use only (1 website only), this script will work only on his website.

Ive bee using this code

Code:
    function anonymous() {
    if(~location.protocol.indexOf('http:')&&~location.host.indexOf('examplesite.com')){}else(location.href='http://mywebsite.com')
    }
    but this code redirects the website, and now its no good because once it redirects, whoever is trying to install it will be aware of the script. I need something that I could see the website who is using my work without permission, without whoever is sing it knowing.

Is it possible?
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

simple answer: Don't do it.

What you're trying to do there is called malware. I understand that you wanna protect your work, but "hiding" code which contacts other websites or whatever is a, very bad idea. Any customer who catches you doing that will be seriously p*ssed off, and they will be right about that.

Apart from that, this kind of "protection" is laughable. Anybody can find and remove it in a matter of seconds. It's like the stupid right-click blockers people used to have in the 90s.

Protecting layouts is impossible. Period. No matter what you do, people can easily circumvent it if they want to. Your "protection" will only annoy legitimate users. You should accept that. There is no technical solution for this problem.

Do you even have a problem with customers constantly violating your licence?
    The 6 worst sins of security ē How to (properly) access a MySQL database with PHP