1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Current Server Name for pgadmin3

Greetings.

I am a PostgreSQL newbie with great DBA experience in Informix and less in Oracle. I need to come up to speed real quick on PostgreSQL DBA wizardry. I created a database on my Ubuntu machine and have run some queries on the catalogs, mainly pg_class. I wanted to set up pgadmin3 to run on my server. However, the first thing pgadmin3 prompts for is a Server Name in the current Server Group.

Can you spell Duh?

How do I get the name of my current server group as well as my current server? My google searches turned up SQL-level function calls like
    and other quite useful tidbits. But no satisfaction on determining the name of my current server instance and server group. So no setting up pgadmin3 for me. Yet.

Can anyone give me a quick hand with this? Perhaps I just have the wring nomenclature for this. In Informix, you can one server handling unlimited number of database and get the server name by a call to dbinfo('DBSERVERNAME'). Ir Oracle, the database IS the server.

But I do I determine this in PostgreSQL?

Thanks much!
    ------------------------
    -- Rasputin Paskudniak
    In pursuit of undomesticated, semi-aquatic avians
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

Originally Posted by rpaskudniak
    However, the first thing pgadmin3 prompts for is a Server Name in the current Server Group.
    Only you know that, because you installed Postgres on that server.
  5. No Profile Picture

Current Server Name for pgadmin3

Shamat,
    If only that were the case. However, Ubuntu handled that detail - I installed PostgreSQL via Synaptec Package Manager. I can go hunting for a configuration file (postmaster.conf?) and seeking a parameter that looks like it's naming a server but that's a bit much for my level of experience with the product.