1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question DB Design Issue?!

Hi to ya all!!!

This is my first post to this forum and Im a total newbie to PostgreSQL and DBs in general ...

Im trying to create a DB for my work wich will handle some stuff that we sell ... the problem Im having is that we have both internal and exeternal customers and I dont know how to reflect this in the DB design. For the internal customers we got a couple of master departments and some department under that.

For the external customers I just want to reference to the companies name.

But in the end I would like to have one big Customer table that I can refer to when adding a buy.

The columns that are relevant for both the custom categories are the following:

user_ID
    username
    password
    first_name
    last_name
    phone
    mobile

The columns that defer for the two customer categories are the following

master_dep |____ These are for the internal customers
    child_dep | A user can be memeber of say social/family

Note that both columns are are alway relevant for the interna customer.

For the external customer only one column identifies it memebership.

company

Well, hope I have made this clear how it works and what I need to get done ... any help is welcome

/Roger
  3. No Profile Picture

Cool Think I solved it today =)

Im putting all my customers into one table ... if both organization and suborganization got values, its an internal user, if only organization got a value, and sub org. is NULL its a external user.

Hope this will work =)

/Roger
  5. No Profile Picture
    Gödelian monster
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Yes, you're going in the right direction. It's always best to generalize and abstract your information. If you separated your customers into two tables, you would be setting yourself up for unforseen problems later.