1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Question regarding keyword checkboxes in database design

Hello,

Apologies in advance, because this post might be long, but I'm not sure how to explain what I need to for this question to make sense otherwise.

I'm a total PostgreSQL beginner, working in a contract job that initially involved developing a database in FileMaker Pro and then evolved into porting it to the web using PostgreSQL because FMP web hosting was too expensive. So now I'm working on all kinds of thorny conversion issues. I've more or less given up on getting the two to interact the way I'd initially hoped, using a third-party SQL plug-in for FMP, because there are too many differences in the way they store data. So it's probably going to end up being only in Pg, and with people who update it after my contract ends using a web form to do so. But in the meantime, I need to get the existing FMP database totally converted over to Pg.

So today's conversion question -- or set of questions, really -- relates to the several lists of checkboxes in the current FMP database, for keywords under which the images, artists and exhibitions are categorized (the database is for an art gallery). In FMP, these are handled by using one field per *set* of checkboxes, with a value list associated with it that provides the different checkboxes or radio buttons in the layouts, but stores the data as one long string delimited by some weird character that doesn't display properly when you export the content as text.