1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Basic advantage of PostgreSQL over SQL ?

Respected Sir's,
    I am new to PostgreSQL sir.
    so i want to know in detail sir.
    would you please tell me the advantage of using PostgreSQL over SQL .
    please tell me in detail sir !

yours,
    PRAGASAM.A
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

You are talking about Microsoft SQL Server, right?

The first advantage is that Postgres is free! Not only that, it runs on many types of UNIX, as well. I currently run Postgres on a FreeBSD machine. Now that combination makes for a STABLE server.

I like to think of Postgres as the Oracle of open source databases. The two are very similar to each other.

Other advantages are that it's fast, very stable, and is one of the truest SQL standards compliant RDBMSes out there.

Having a standards compliant database is an advantage because it makes it alot easier to port your code to other databases that try to adhere to SQL standards.

Postgres is a very nice system, and really it's not very difficult to learn. If you know Oracle, this is a breeze. When I need help, I reference some of my PL/SQL books for tips on forming alot of the SQL code on Postgres.

I have no experience with conversions from SQLServer, but I've heard they can be rough, since the Transact-SQL in SQLServer sort of "cheats" sometimes. For example, sometimes you can perform mathematical operations on data with different datatypes in SQLServer. SQLServer coded some functions like DATEDIFF to make it possible to deal with these different datatypes. In a standards compliant database, you need your datatypes to be the same to perform an operation on them. So, I have heard accomodating for some of these "cheat" functions can be a pain in SQLServer. So you might want to keep that in mind if you're planning on migrating.

I'm sure somebody who's more experienced in SQLServer can give you better information than I.