1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Huge MySQL -> PostgreSQL w/ data Conversion

Hi,

I'm new to postgreSQL though I've been using MySQL for over 3 years. I've got a huge project which has lots of data that I want to migrate to postgreSQL. Problem is, I cannot find any tool that does the job, and not only the data s big, the scheme is also BIG

So, could someone provide me a tool to convert a dump from MySQL to PostgreSQL?

Thanks in Advance,

Hugo Jose Ferreira
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

There are some on the net. Try google
  5. No Profile Picture

I've tried... But the result of all of them gives me invalid SQL when i try to import it...
  7. No Profile Picture
    Gödelian monster
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Hi Bytter,

Unfortunately, migration from MySQL to PostgreSQL is not a painless operation at present. It is still worthwhile, though, for the benefits you get with PostgreSQL.

I am assuming you have tried "my2pg.pl" and "mysql2pgsql", which are located in the 'contrib' section of the downloaded PostgreSQL source. These are just simple Perl scripts which attempt to take a dump from MySQL, and use some text processing to make the table definitions and data fit PostgreSQL. Unfortunately, I believe these scripts are nowhere near being up-to-date (my2pg.pl is more recent than mysql2pgsql, though).

I personally have tried these scripts, and found that they fixed some problems, but not all, and for mission-critical migration, I wouldn't trust my data to a script anyway.

Really, at present the only way to do a true conversion is by hand, manually checking the column types and understanding the differences between how the two systems define things.

Some major differences: