1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Problems porting function (MS --> Postgres)

I am attempting to convert a SQLServer 2000 DB to Postgres. My company has kindly donated DB space to me, but I have a new computer and think it is time to move it to my house. While the data import worked alright, I have a bunch of functions defined that need to be recoded for Postgres.

If I want to return a "setof" data, what datatype would I declare the variable I select into?

This is my first attempt at writing a function in PostgreSQL. All of the other functions in the database are based on this function. Currently, when I run this function, I get the error:
    Code:
    NOTICE:  Error occurred while executing PL/pgSQL function fportpos
    NOTICE:  line 10 at SQL statement
    ERROR:  SELECT query has no destination for result data.
           If you want to discard the results, use PERFORM instead.
    When I first started to write fportpos, I was using "language SQL", but have since switched to "language plpgsql". I did this so that I can do some error checking on the data that is passed in. This got me a lot further into the process but now I am supposed use the keyword "return". If I want to return a "setof" data, what datatype would I declare the variable I select into?

Code:
    CREATE or REPLACE function fportpos(date)
    RETURNS setof text
    AS '
    DECLARE
     dt date;
    BEGIN

dt:= $1;
     if (dt is null) then
       dt:= current_date();
     end if;

SELECT p.port,
            p.exch,
            p.org,
            p.secid,
            SUM(trade.units) AS Pos,
            case when d.closeprice is null then trade.price else d.closeprice end AS price,
            SUM(trade.totcost) AS totcost,
            odate,
            cdate
     FROM   tposition p
            INNER JOIN ttransactions trans ON p.port = trans.port AND
                                              p.oDate <= trans."date" AND