1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

MySQL -> PostgreSQL conversion troubles

Hi there,

I've been working on a website driven by phpmysql. Now the client wants it to be in PostGreSQL. I've no experience at all with PostGreSQL but I started converting the mysql database anyways. Here is what I made of my MySQL create table code:

CREATE TABLE `content` (
    `autoID` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
    `section` tinytext NOT NULL,
    `sectionID` tinytext NOT NULL,
    `subsection` tinytext NOT NULL,
    `subsectionID` tinytext NOT NULL,
    `content` longtext NOT NULL,
    `public` tinytext NOT NULL,
    `date` datetime NOT NULL default '0000-00-00 00:00:00',
    PRIMARY KEY (`autoID`),
    UNIQUE KEY `autoID` (`autoID`)
    ) TYPE=MyISAM PACK_KEYS=0 AUTO_INCREMENT=96 ;

became in PostgreSQL

CREATE TABLE "content" (
    "autoID" int8 NOT NULL,
    "section" text NOT NULL,
    "sectionID" text NOT NULL,
    "subsection" text NOT NULL,
    "subsectionID" text NOT NULL,
    "content" text NOT NULL,
    "public" text NOT NULL,
    "date" timestamp NOT NULL
    );
    CREATE UNIQUE INDEX "content_autoID_key" ON "content" ("autoID");

I'm not sure if I did this correctly but it seems to work. Any hints and tips are more than welcome though!

With some cutting and pasting and finding and replacing I converted the insert code into this:

Met wat knip en plak werk en find and replace heb ik de content uit MySQL dump omgezet naar PostGrez. Hierbij kwam ik een probleem tegen:

INSERT INTO "content" ("autoID", "section", "sectionID", "subsection", "subsectionID", "content", "public", "date") VALUES(1, 'Home', '1', 'Raves & amp ; parties', '0', 'Fake text fake text', 'show', '2003-11-14 16:26:25+01');

Now I have a problem. And I think it's the insertion of:
    'Raves & amp ; parties'

Because this piece of date contains a ; character phppgadmin won't complete the query. This wasn't a problem in phpmyadmin.