1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Access to array (C++)

Hi,
    I am just starting to learn C++ and I need to ask you. Is it possible to create array or object where I could create element under index starting not from zero but e.g. 25?

Situation which I want to describe. I have image with white background. First row contains few pixels in black color. There are pixels (x coord) 23, 24 and 25 are black. There can be also some other black areas, but let's suppose 26 is white. According formula Iyn=[x1,x2] I want to get the lower value (x1) of the limit and the upper value (x2). So I want to make method to get ( in this particular case the limit Iyn=[23,25] ) .

(Illustration of the black pixels in the image row 1-5, up to column 26; the grid illustrates the positions of the pixels; the pixels are the big black blots)

I would like to do it like so:

I plan to read image row by row (or column by column). For every row I would like to use for loop to analyse whether the previous pixel has same color (*) - if yes, then set a value in array. However to have efficient performance I need this direct access. So if I analyse row=1 and found that pixel with coord x=25 is same color like the previous pixel (x=24), later I wound need to access it directly by value 25. If I found that the next pixel does not contain same color so I would save the lower limit x1 into the array myarr[y][x1]=x2.