1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

APPCRASH Unknown Reason !Beginner!

Hi everyone, Im just getting into C and I wrote this extremely simple program for an exercise in my book. The program crashes a few seconds after "Age:" has been shown and I just dont get why.

This is the Code:

#include <stdio.h>

main(){
    char Name;
    int Age, NextAge;

printf("Name: ");
    scanf("%c", &Name);

printf("Age: ");
    scanf("%d", &Age);

NextAge = Age + 1;

printf("Hi %s, You are %d years old, next year you will be %d", Name, NextAge);
    }

Please help me out!

Greets
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What did you input for "Name: "? Only a single character? Or more than one character. Because all that the first scanf will do is to read in a single character, leaving the rest of the multi-character input for "Name: " in the input buffer to be read by the next scanf. But since that next scanf is expecting a digit, when it gets a letter instead then it will fail, not update Age (so that whatever garbage value it contains will remain unchanged), and proceed on to the NextAge assignment statement.

If instead you wanted to store a complete name in Name, then you need to declare it as a char array and you would need to give scanf a "%s" instead of a "%c".

So then, just what is it that you want to do?

And are you sure that the program actually crashes? Or does it display the "Hi <the first char you entered followed by an unknown amount of garbage> ..." message with the NextAge field being filled with a weird and probably very large number?