{
    	char arg[25] = {0};

while(strcmp(arg,"quit"))
    	{
    		rewind(stdin);
    		gets(arg);
    	}
    }
    Would that be a valid, functioning, dedicated basis for text inputing for a DOS-like command prompt?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

that says that while 0 != "quit", it will 'rewind' 'stdin' and read 'arg' which is 0

i'm into C++, not C and i'm not very good at it so please answer my stupid questions:

1. what is "rewind"?, it's not listed as a function in my C/C++ book as a function......

2. since 0 is never equal to "quit", will this code not just constantly read the value 0 over and over again?

3. are you sure you can perform a function on a function? stdin is a function itself, not a variable of any kind.

IMO this code wouldn't work but keep in mind that i suck at this lol.
    PHP is fun
  5. jasondoucette.com

rewind

Repositions the file pointer to the beginning of a file.

void rewind( FILE *stream );

it requires: <stdio.h>
    and is ANSI compatible

I didn't know it existed either. Must be left over from the days of Fortran. :)
  7. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Ghetalion:

One of the reasons I hang around here is that I am learning a lot from everybody.

For example, I already knew about the rewind() function, but I never would have thought of applying it to stdin. When I saw that line of code, I thought it was an error. But here is what the MSDN site [http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...crt_rewind.asp ] and the VC++ 1.52 help file say about it:
    To clear the keyboard buffer, use rewind with the stream stdin, which is associated with the keyboard by default.
    and
    You can also use the rewind function to clear the keyboard buffer. Use the rewind function with the stream stdin, which is associated with the keyboard by default.