1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Beginning C Book help

I have been wanting to learn C for quite some time now and have finally decided to give it a try. I have little experience with Visual Basic .NET and C++. Though neither of those experiences were quality experiences. I took both classes at a community college. First Visual Basic .NET in which I feel I have become a master at dragging and dropping but very little experience at all in coding as most of the code was handed to us or auto completed by Visual Studio. The next Semester I took C++ in, not only was the instructor unsure about what he was teaching and wrong quite often he didnít have the ability to use a keyboard with out at least 10 minutes of fixing spelling errors. In both of these classes all assignments, projects and what not where done in class with the code clearly displayed to us. This method did nothing for me because I didn't have to think for myself. Overall my experiences thus far in programming have been disappointing from the start. I wasn't even able to take a C class because it is not offered in my area.

So I guess to get to my actual question, I was wondering if this book would be a good starting point http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0672305100/qid=1152477580/sr=2-3/ref=pd_bbs_b_2_3/103-6977501-2180606?s=books&v=glance&n=283155

I did noticed that this book was published some time ago and wonder if that will have an effect on the learning process if I should find something newer and more relevant to C today.

However if this is a good starting point what would be a good 2nd book.

Thanks in advance.
  3. Google Relay Server
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

That book seems to have gotten good reviews but I definitely wouldn't go with any book published before at least 1999; a new C standard came out that year and I've seen a lot of posts here by beginners reading old books who end up confused because of the non-standard things in the books.