Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. Don't fear the penguins!
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unhappy Get beginning characters?

Hey, could someone please tell me how I can get, say the first 3 characters from the beginning of the string 'cArgv[iCount]'? Thanks, I'm new to C++.

Oh yeh, I'm using Visual C++ .NET, fyi.
    Every morning, I get up and look through the Forbes list of the richest people in America. If I'm not there, I go to work.

May your Tongue stick to the Roof of your Mouth with the Force of a Thousand Caramels.

To the systems programmer, users and applications serve only to provide a test load.
  3. not a fan of fascism (n00b)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

here's one way:
    Code:
    char array[] = "Hello World";
    char my_array[10] = "";

strncpy(my_array, array, 3);

cout << my_array << endl;
    -will output Hel
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

Hey, could someone please tell me how I can get, say the first 3 characters from the beginning of the string 'cArgv[iCount]'?
    If you had a char array like this:

char text[10];

how would you access the first three characters? You would do that using their index positions:

text[0], text[1], and text[2].

Now, if you have string named cArgv[iCount], you can still use array notation to access the characters in the string--just substitute the name cArgv[iCount] for the name text above:

cArgv[iCount][0], cArgv[iCount][1], and cArgv[iCount][2]

If you want to store those characters in another char array and at some point display them, you need to be sure to tack on a '\0' at the end otherwise the << operator(as in cout<<first3;) won't know when the string ends.

Code:
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

int main () 
    {

char* argv[3];

char string0[]="hello ";
    	char string1[]="the ";
    	char string2[]="world";

argv[0]=string0;
    	argv[1]=string1;
    	argv[2]=string2;